top of page
  • Writer's picturebobsandbooks

Blog Tour: The Last House on the Street, Diane Chamberlain

I am excited to be kicking off the tour for this great read.



Unearthing the plot: 1965. A young white female student becomes involved in the fight for civil rights in North Carolina, falling in love with one of her fellow activists, a Black man, in a time and place where an interracial relationship must be hidden from family, friends and especially the re-emerging Ku Klux Klan. As tensions rise in the town, she realises not everyone is who they appear to be.


2010. A recently widowed architect moves into the home she and her late husband designed, heartbroken that he will never cross the threshold. But when disturbing things begin to happen, it's clear that someone is sending her a warning. Who is trying to frighten her away, and why?


Decades later, past and present are set to collide in the last house on the street...


Bobs and Books honest review:


I started off so intrigued about Kayla's story.. Who was that weird red haired woman at the very beginning who knows so much about her? Question after question came and I was hooked immediately needing to know more about the 2010 world.


Ellie's story was more of a slow burn for me, but then when she makes some important decisions, Ellie's story takes a place of its own.


This very much started for me as will this become a ghost story or not. I now know it is haunting but not in the way I anticipated.


The author has this very clever way of revealing a little bit more and disclosing more and the tension builds. I could feel myself holding my breath the longer this went on.


No spoilers from me, but I can honestly say that this read has such shocking events that I know this will stay with me for a very long time. Its vivid, its real, its harsh and its very hard hitting. This does not shy away from some very difficult subject matters and it doesn't apologise for it. It shouldn't. People absolutely need to read this.


Powerful storytelling.


6 views0 comments
bottom of page