top of page
  • Writer's picturebobsandbooks

Fringe worthy reads: Happy Publication Day Tracy Rees, Hidden Secrets at the Little Village Church

If you love historical fiction like I do, Tracy Rees will be a household name to you. The Hourglass, Florence Grace and Darling Blue/The Love Note are all firm favourites on the historical fiction bookshelf. So if you are also like me, you will have just done a double take at realising that the very wonderfully same Tracy Rees is now writing contemporary fiction. Even if you are new to Tracy's work, I am more than happy to share with you one really lovely read.


De-tangling the plot: When tragedy strikes, Gwen Stanley finds herself jobless and heartbroken. With nowhere else to turn, she retreats to Hopley, a crumbling little village in the sun-dappled English countryside. Wandering the winding lanes and daydreaming about what could have been, Gwen feels so very lost for the first time…


Until one day she pushes through the creaking doors of a tiny stone church on the edge of the village, forgotten by nearly everyone. There she stumbles on a little book full of local secrets. It might just change her life.


My thoughts on Tracy's new style:

I can honestly say that I didn't imagine for a second that I'd be captivated by a village church visitor book but yes I was. Gwen and Jarvis are two unlikely volunteers to support the local church, both with their own weird and wonderful motivations that amuse, delight and make you feel all fuzzy. Both are troubled and you warm to them in a not at all relatable fashion, then as they get to know each other and barriers come down, so do yours as a reader. The visitor book brings some real characters along the way. You giggle at the rambling Welsh lady, want to give Greta a hug, and the village sense of community past and present really comes to light. I think this in particular feels even more valuable at a time when we can't quite achieve that community togetherness in our own lives at the moment. Although a smaller character, I appreciated an autistic character-not seen enough in books in my opinion.


It's no hidden secret from me:


I absolutely loved this book. Read it in one sitting, Could not put it down.


Tracy Rees fans will note that this is very different to her other books and has no timeframe hopping or historical time period. Do not let that stop you reading. Its her finest work yet.




24 views0 comments
bottom of page